Tea and a catch up!

Published January 28, 2015 by Harri

Sometimes, going out and being sociable is actually good for you.

I had a group message on facebook a couple of days ago, from three friends I was in comp with (We were about 15/16 years old). We were tight for about 2 years. We hung out, did stuff that teenagers did before the internet and Netflix. Although in hindsight, I am seriously glad we didn’t have social media about when I was doing some seriously stupid shit. Like drinking a bottle of Sheridans that was 2 years past it’s date. I was off my face. Good memories.

So, after recent times and how I have been around people I used to know (nervy as shit, paranoid and anxious as hell), I could feel my palms getting sweaty, as I replied to a message about meeting up for a cuppa and a catch up.

How glad I am I did agree.

We spent from 10am this morning, until 3pm this afternoon, just talking and catching up. It was awesome. It felt lovely just catching up with these amazing women, whom I hadn’t sat in a room with for about 15 years. We talked. We cried. We talked some more and then we cried some more. As daft as it sounds, it was cathartic. Not just the act of talking and catching up, but getting out of the house and enjoying the company of people.

Granted they were people I haven’t seen for yonks, it was comfortable. We opened up to each other and bared some of the shit that we have been through. I hope I didn’t talk too much, I get nervous and chat crap.

 

The contrast between how I was in school, the cocky bravado that I had built up to combat the bullying to now is amazing. Although I have had 2 breakdowns and so much shit, but the person I am today has lived. She has survived and she is going to keep surviving. I haven’t got a choice but I don’t want to stop either.

Having these amazing women back in my life will enrich it. Sometimes, old friendships are meant to be, regardless of time.

Let me know what you think.

A Positive Death UK

Death Pos Community in the UK

Chelle's Crafty Crochet

Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

Capital Nerd

Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

Sloth Speed Recovery

A Mental Health Recovery Site

British Army Blog

Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

chronicleofellen

life, the universe and crafty goodness

createdbymeggan

Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

RestinBitchFace

Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

The Craft Cwtch

Quality yarn from around the world

Sophie Eliza

lets talk

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Betty's Banter

Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

Pride's Purge

an irreverent look at UK politics

One Page At A Time

There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

