Exercise, good for you?

Published February 9, 2015 by Harri

Who’d have thought it? Exercise being good for you. Granted at the time of the exercise, it doesn’t feel like it’s good for you, hell, it feels like you are trying to kill yourself with the damn thing. BUT exercise is good for you.

Why is it good for me? Cue the infographic pic!

Benefits of Exercise

Ok, so it’s safe to say, that generally we all know that exercise is good for us. All the points up there are good points. They are beneficial to anyone who exercises. What about a morbidly obese person?

Well, speaking personally (I haven’t done any research into how it is beneficial to other morbidly obese), here is what I have found in just a month’s worth of exercising and eating healthy.

I have been going to the gym twice a week for four weeks, this will not be stopping and I have had to stop myself from going down again, I do also want to add extras to my current workout so will be asking the trainer what I can do when I see her next.

Here is how it’s changed me.

  • I can walk again – A simple thing granted, but, being able to walk small distances again, without being breathless is nice. It’s a step in the right direction.
  • I can walk up the stairs again – I could always get up the stairs, but I would be slow and clunky. It would take me 5 minutes to get up the damn things, but now, I am a lot quicker and not breathless. Win!
  • I am sleeping sounder – I am a snorer. Even at my fittest, I still snore. Apparently I had large tonsils (they have been removed) and have trouble with breathing through my nose, BUT saying that, I am actually sleeping. It’s still taking a while for me to drop off (silly brain not being quiet) but when I do drop off, there are rarely any dreams. It’s a sound sleep. I also don’t feel so tired during the day. Which is nice!
  • I am encouraged to eat healthier – I know this one sounds weird, but the more I exercise, the more I don’t want to spoil it by eating poorly. I am actively seeking out the healthier option with my meals. This is progress!
  • I am starting to feel better – This one is a double edged sword. I feel better when I exercise, when I have exercised, but before exercising, I panic about what people in the gym are going to say and do with this fat woman sweating like a beast in there. I have to keep overcoming the anxiety and intrusive thoughts to keep going to the gym. I want to go to the gym, which is a massive step for me.
  • I am enjoying social interaction again – Granted most of my social interaction has been either Slimming World Image Therapy, the gym and talking to the trainer, or being dragged out on walks by my school friends (we hadn’t spoken together in over 14 years, we have been enjoying catching up). After nearly a year of deliberate social isolation, I forgot that I do actually like being with people.
  • Things are getting easier – Hauling my arse off the sofa is easier, my bed isn’t protesting as much when I get in it or out of it for that matter, standing doesn’t hurt so much, doing the damn dishes (I HATE washing dishes), although my stomach gets soaked by the water as our sink is so damn low (I could just be too tall, I don’t know) is easier because my back doesn’t hurt as quickly as it used to.
  • My mood improves when I am exercising – This one is specific, because of the BPD my mood swings are all over the place, yet when I am exercising, I feel motivated and focussed. I feel good about myself (as long as I avoid mirrors) and I am proud of what I do.
  • Breathing is easier – This may sound silly, but it’s true. Breathing is easier, I no longer struggle for breath when sedentary. Exerting myself is a little different, I do puff and pant then but, I can sit and watch a programme without wheezing. Which is always pleasant.
  • I am starting to enjoy myself – Ok, so this one is a strange one. Not only am I enjoying being more active again, I am  enjoying the gym. Which is something that I never thought would happen. I do have to keep reminding myself that it is a long journey, this isn’t going to just fall off me, it’s going to take time and a lot of effort. I don’t expect to hit my target weight (the one I have set with Slimming World to prove the docs wrong) before 2 years into my journey, but I am looking forward to the journey. I know there will be set-backs and bends in the road, but hey, it won’t be a journey if there wasn’t. Right?

That’s all I can think of at the moment. I haven’t written about my clothes fitting better because they don’t. I still have trouble fitting into certain outfits and I am waiting to be able to wear some trousers that haven’t been worn in over 2 years. My size 22’s. I reckon I am between a 24 and 26 at the moment, I think.

I have high impact sports bras that haven’t been worn for just as long. It’s sad. However, I don’t want to be thinking about the sad. I want to think about the positive. I am doing this for me. If it helps prove a point to my daughter, that if you want something, you have to work hard for it, then so be it.

I want to be comfortable with who I am, (although I am terrified that I will end up with a massive flap of baggy skin that will hinder me and cause more health problems, which I know some people will say that’s what I get for eating myself into that position. I get that, I turned to food to comfort me when some people would have turned to alcohol or drugs to forget. There are other ways to deal with these issues but they aren’t always available to people.) with what I have achieved and I would love to be confident in my form and what I have to give.

Honestly though, it’s just nice having some structure in my life. Knowing I have to go to the gym on a Tuesday and Thursday (don’t get me wrong, I’d be more than happy to go daily, but I know it would send me into overdrive and I would push myself into injury territory), keeps me going. If I start missing them, I will get lazy, that terrifies me. I don’t want to be falling backwards when I have so far forwards to go.

So yeah. just a quick positive post, for a change!

Cleaning to do now, I have to start turning my attention to my house. Deep spring clean coming up soon, it’s needed badly. Body magic win!

 

Laters, take care of yourselves xx

A x

2 comments on “Exercise, good for you?

  • Exercise and eating healthy helps my BPD so much as well- and in many of the same ways. I think it’s due to the disorders’ ties to the limbic system. There’s a ton of research out there about the benefits of exercise in a holistic mental health treatment paradigm! So your definitely not alone in that experience. I’m glad you’ve found something that helps so much. 🙂

    • I am still in the adjustment stage of exercise and BPD, I can have an amazing workout, then come home and sob for no known reason. Although saying that, I am actively looking forward to my workouts, I get excited and start to get tetchy if there is even a glimmer of me not making it.
      I am hoping this continues, as I do like the feeling.
      Thank you honey x

  • Let me know what you think.

        A Positive Death UK

    Death Pos Community in the UK

    Chelle's Crafty Crochet

    Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

    Capital Nerd

    Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

    Sloth Speed Recovery

    A Mental Health Recovery Site

    British Army Blog

    Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

    chronicleofellen

    life, the universe and crafty goodness

    createdbymeggan

    Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

    RestinBitchFace

    Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

    The Craft Cwtch

    Quality yarn from around the world

    Sophie Eliza

    lets talk

    Rainbow Junkie

    My crafty creations corner

    Betty's Banter

    Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

    Pride's Purge

    an irreverent look at UK politics

    One Page At A Time

    There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

    It's all in a Nutshell

    A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

