Penpals and distractions

Published August 9, 2015 by Harri

So a few months ago, I started writing to some people. The old fashioned way. Letters and envelopes. Snail mail.

It’s so relaxing but it’s addictive too. The anticipation of waiting for a letter to come through the post is almost unbearable, but in a good kind of way. That is until you don’t get a response from anyone. Then it’s just crushing, but I know I am not everyone’s cup of tea. So, I am getting used to that bit, rejection hurts. I won’t lie to you. It’s also compounded by the BPD, which means I have a fear of driving people away. Go figure.

Anyway, I have been writing to a few people and hope that they will reply and keep replying to me. The whole thing has given me excitement and enjoyment. Just reading letters that other people have taken the time to write and send to me, it’s humbling. It also gives me something to focus on. I know there is mail on it’s way from me and I know there is mail from all over on it’s way to me. It’s a nice feeling. Almost like being wanted. I don’t know how many people actually enjoy my semi-narcissistic ramblings but it’s nice to spend the time decorating the letters. Actually concentrating on my handwriting and making it neat (I use a fountain pen, as it seems to be the best thing for me to use).

So whilst I have been writing to various people around the world, I have learnt a few things.

  • Writing the first letter is always awkward as hell.
  • I can’t draw for shit.
  • I need more stickers, but can’t afford them at the moment and would rather pay for postage, so will stick to drawing crap doodles.
  • Postage isn’t as expensive as I thought. £1.33 to send a letter to the USA!
  • My handwriting looks better on the envelope than it does in the letter.
  • I worry way too much about the post getting to where it needs to go.
  • It’s quite cathartic writing about the positive things in my life. Reaffirming what I do have.
  • I get super excited when a letter lands on my door mat (although I don’t have a doormat, but you know what I mean!)
  • I’d like to practise my drawing skills, but am scared people will think they are terrible.

So yeah, I think that’s it. I love snail mail. I really do. It’s exciting and fun. I have a pen friend in Italy, a few in the USA, one in the UK, one on the Jersey Channel Islands, one in The Netherlands and I think that’s it.

Try it. Join a snail mail group on Facebook (I did it that way), get a general feel for a person before you give out your address or P.O. Box number and go from there. It’s a hobby that I truly enjoy as I really do like finding out about other people and their lives in other countries. How different is it from mine?

 

Anyway, I have to go and get ready for work. Le sigh!

A xx

Let me know what you think.

A Positive Death UK

Death Pos Community in the UK

Chelle's Crafty Crochet

Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

Capital Nerd

Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

Sloth Speed Recovery

A Mental Health Recovery Site

British Army Blog

Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

chronicleofellen

life, the universe and crafty goodness

createdbymeggan

Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

RestinBitchFace

Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

The Craft Cwtch

Quality yarn from around the world

Sophie Eliza

lets talk

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Betty's Banter

Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

Pride's Purge

an irreverent look at UK politics

One Page At A Time

There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

