Lumbar Puncture, ARGH!

Published August 10, 2015 by Harri

I received a letter this morning containing the appointment date for my Lumbar Puncture. Which basically means they will stick a needle into my spinal cord and draw some fluid from it to help relieve the pressure in my head. I have been waiting since April for this and I honestly thought I would have to wait longer than I have. My head hurts. I don’t know if the LP will actually show anything, or if it will relieve any of the pain. I can just live in hope.

So basically, I am hoping my Mam will be able to take me as the appointment is 26.8 miles from my home, so about a half hour drive. It’s not one I can walk to.

I am shitting bricks. Seriously. The last time I had a Lumbar Puncture, I was told the usual. “Go to the toilet, completely empty your bladder.” I did that, they put the spinal block in, did the LP and after they left, I could feel that I needed to pee again. I have a nervous bladder. Really twitchy. I can empty it completely and need to go again in 10 minutes. So I called the nurses, they told me off for not emptying my bladder properly and walked away. I pissed myself. I had to lie in a bed of my piss feeling it get cold against my skin, until I called the nurse back and told her I’d had an accident.

“For god’s sake, didn’t you go before they did this. We did tell you.” I told them I had a twitchy bladder.

“No one is that bad, you can’t have emptied your bladder properly!” I basically got told off for something I had no control over. I was actually staying in hospital at the time, they were investigating stroke like symptoms, which I now know were Migraines with Aura. A Sporadic Hemiplegic Migraine which basically presents as a stroke. It terrified the living shit out of me and was diagnosed after my LP came back clear, along with CT’s and an MRI. I was discharged with the inability to speak properly, a loss of feeling on my left side and was told, it’s a migraine. Deal with it.

I was fucking terrified.

This LP  that I have coming up will be different though, apparently. It will be done with a local anaesthetic and I will be able to get up and walk around after it. So we will see. That’s if my Mam can take me. If she can’t then I will have to rebook it for another day. I will just have to wait and see what Mam is doing that day.

So that’s what is happening with me at the moment! YAY

A x

Let me know what you think.

Chelle's Crafty Crochet

Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

Capital Nerd

Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

Sloth Speed Recovery

A Mental Health Recovery Site

British Army Blog

Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

chronicleofellen

life, the universe and crafty goodness

createdbymeggan

Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

RestinBitchFace

Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

The Craft Cwtch

Quality yarn from around the world

Sophie Eliza

lets talk

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Betty's Banter

Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

Pride's Purge

an irreverent look at UK politics

One Page At A Time

There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

Anonymously Autistic

#ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

