My dirty little secret

Published August 19, 2015 by Harri

Okay, so this is the hardest thing I have ever had to do.
Why am I telling you what I am about to tell you, because I am sick of living with a shame that shouldn’t be there.

I have been doing an Online Secrets course. How secrets can be a destructive force on who we are. This is important to me. I don’t know how people are going to react. I know some people will not give a shit. I know others will. I know I will lose ‘friends’ over this. The time has come for me to tell my story.

As some of you know, when I was 9, I was sexually abused. That prick also gave me herpes.

I found out this time 2 years ago. Remember the time I had a breakdown. When I lost my shit and gained all the weight I had worked so hard to lose. Yeah, then.

It had gone undiagnosed for 20 years because Doctors were convinced the symptoms were something to do with my PCOS and because I had been having outbreaks since before I was ‘sexually active’.

This hit me like a tonne of shit, straight off my feet and onto my arse. I felt dirty and violated all over again. Only this time, sitting in a bath of boiling water and scrubbing myself till I bled wouldn’t help.

Herpes Simplex 2 or Genital Herpes is a virus. A skin complaint that effects my body too. Sometimes I have an outbreak and nothing else. Other times, I am fighting a really bad case of flu (which means I can’t leave my bed because I am so weak), as well as having sandpaper in my damn knickers.

I know a lot of you won’t understand why I am telling you this. Why I am sharing such personal information. Well, the truth is, I shouldn’t have to hide it or feel guilty about it.

How many of you get cold sores? How many of you carry HSV without even realising it? How many of you have a few blisters and brush them off as a reaction?

Herpes is one of the most common sexually transmitted diseases, it’s also incurable. You have it for life. Granted it won’t kill you, but sometimes you wish you were dead.

I am done feeling like I need to carry this secret. I am done feeling like I am dirty and it’s my fault.

 

It doesn’t matter how you contract a sexually transmitted disease, you aren’t dirty. You weren’t asking for it. You are still special and someone will love you for who you are.

3 comments on “My dirty little secret

  • I get cold sores and I hate it! I take a supplement every day to try and control the outbreaks (I haven’t had one in years now).

    Of course, no kissing or oral sex when outbreaks do occur. A lot of people don’t realize that cold sores can give someone genital herpes. Scary!

    • The cold sore virus is the same virus as the genital herpes virus, just a different strain. You can have HSV-1 (cold sores) on your genitalia and have HSV-2 (genital) on your face. The only way to find out which you have for definite is to get it checked. There is a lot of misinformation about herpes. x

  • Let me know what you think.

        A Positive Death UK

    Death Pos Community in the UK

    Chelle's Crafty Crochet

    Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

    Capital Nerd

    Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

    Sloth Speed Recovery

    A Mental Health Recovery Site

    British Army Blog

    Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

    chronicleofellen

    life, the universe and crafty goodness

    createdbymeggan

    Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

    RestinBitchFace

    Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

    The Craft Cwtch

    Quality yarn from around the world

    Sophie Eliza

    lets talk

    Rainbow Junkie

    My crafty creations corner

    Betty's Banter

    Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

    Pride's Purge

    an irreverent look at UK politics

    One Page At A Time

    There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

    It's all in a Nutshell

    A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

    Anonymously Autistic

    #ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

