The Dressmaker – Rosalie Ham

Published March 5, 2016 by Harri

The DressmakerThe Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After reading the book, I have noticed the differences to the film. Although the film had a happy ending, where the characters you warmed up to had a happy soul-cleansing ending, they don’t in the book.

It’s a book that makes me want hug Tilly and her bravery, although her revenge is so perfectly exacted, it’s not the best way to go about things.

This book made me cry, it made me laugh way too hard and it made me want to scratch the eyes out of the vindictive and evil townsfolk.

I would definitely recommend this book.

View all my reviews

This book, well, there is a beautiful way the story wraps up at the end. As mentioned before the similarities between the book and film are a few, all in all the film was pretty faithful to the book, but as with any adaptation, there have been bits left out.

Set in the Outback of Australia, in the late 30’s, early 40’s, the views are bigoted and the attitudes stink, of those who aren’t at the bottom of the heap.

Watching the film, you don’t realise how much heartbreak Tilly has had to endure, how the “Curse” has become so real in her mind.

In places this book in an uncomfortable read. With marital rape, molestation and domestic violence either mentioned or written in detail. I’d advise caution if you are easily triggered by those things. Thankfully, I am in a better place than I have been for a long time, so reading those things didn’t throw me back to being 9. I did however with that the little shit Stuart Pettyman had fallen down a well instead.

The other characters in this book are all sanctimonious and venomous. When reading how they treated Molly and Tilly (although that was the done thing back then) when they first arrived and continued to do so when Tilly came back made me angry.

The only problem with this book is that I was trying to read all the spoken parts with an Australian accent. Which felt like it was being butchered.

 

A good read, solid storyline, with characters that develop and grow. Heartbreak, humour and death. All good things in a book, right?

Let me know what you think.

A Positive Death UK

Death Pos Community in the UK

Chelle's Crafty Crochet

Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

Capital Nerd

Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

Sloth Speed Recovery

A Mental Health Recovery Site

British Army Blog

Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

chronicleofellen

life, the universe and crafty goodness

createdbymeggan

Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

RestinBitchFace

Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

The Craft Cwtch

Quality yarn from around the world

Sophie Eliza

lets talk

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Betty's Banter

Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

Pride's Purge

an irreverent look at UK politics

One Page At A Time

There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

