Reported for Impersonation

Published December 16, 2016 by Harri

I checked my Facebook whilst on my break in work yesterday..

Why would anyone go out of their way to report me?

My account had been disabled and hidden. No one could see me and I couldn’t access my account. Apparently, I am impersonating someone. Who, I don’t know.

Getting my account reactivated, well, I am still waiting for Facebook to respond. 2 days to reactivate an account (that hasn’t been activated yet, I am still awaiting approval from my appeal!) that was disabled without warning, on what I am assuming is one person’s report. I still don’t understand why anyone would go out of their way to report a page. It’s ridiculous.

I do believe it was out of spite, I have my suspicions but whether those are true I don’t know.

So what happens when your account is disabled?

Obviously, you can’t access it. You can’t access messenger either. Trying to get a response from Facebook is like getting blood from a stone. Apparently, you are only warranted one email from them a day. Yesterday, as soon as I got the report (email first, then a note when trying to log in), I sent them the photographic ID (Driver’s License) and waited. Paranoia going through the roof.

Who had I pissed off? Who hated me that much? Why me?

Today, I got another email… “Could we please have a picture of your face holding your photographic ID?” That was sent, immediately. Then nothing. No response. It’s the weekend now, so I haven’t a clue if my account will be activated tomorrow or on Monday.

If I had chosen to step away, I would. But it was taken from me. All the photos and videos I have on there could be fucking lost.

But then a second chain of thoughts spring to mind…

Who am I pissing off? They must fucking deserve it. I hope they know it.

 

Anyway, so yeah.

Back to the crocheting.

 

One comment on “Reported for Impersonation

  • I’m not sure you would have necessarily been reported. I’ve heard of people getting randomly selected for checks, and yet there’s people with clearly fake profiles that get away with it. You could always ask Facebook if it was random or reported, but my guess would be the former

  • Let me know what you think.

        A Positive Death UK

    Death Pos Community in the UK

    Chelle's Crafty Crochet

    Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

    Capital Nerd

    Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

    Sloth Speed Recovery

    A Mental Health Recovery Site

    British Army Blog

    Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

    chronicleofellen

    life, the universe and crafty goodness

    createdbymeggan

    Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

    RestinBitchFace

    Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

    The Craft Cwtch

    Quality yarn from around the world

    Sophie Eliza

    lets talk

    Rainbow Junkie

    My crafty creations corner

    Betty's Banter

    Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

    Pride's Purge

    an irreverent look at UK politics

    One Page At A Time

    There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

    It's all in a Nutshell

    A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

