Crocheting and Mental Health

Published March 4, 2017 by Harri

I have been crocheting on and off for over 10 years. My Nanny Grace could watch a TV show and crochet or knit the most intricate of blankets and cardigans without even a hint of looking at the work. It was a talent and skill that I still live in awe.

I started my on my first crochet blanket whilst pregnant with my daughter over 10 years ago. It looked like a massive nipple warmer.

As you can see, there was much to learn. A lot of learning to have done over the years! Lots of single crochets, a few double crochets and lots and lots of chains as an increase. Magic circles hadn’t been heard of. I can’t remember how I started it.

Now I  am making Dragonscale Gloves, Virus Shawls and Dog Jumpers!

I use crocheting as a distraction and a calming method for my anxiety and other mental health issues. The distraction for my hands is more than welcome. My skin thanks it. especially over the last 4 months with everything happening the way it has. With a Body Focused Repetitive Disorder (Dermatillomania), I scan subconsciously for something to pick, whether it be in my hair, on my face, arms, shoulders, etc. Crocheting keeps my hands busy. It’s a positive and constructive way of dealing with my inner demons. It’s hard to explain. Really explain to people. I can listen to an audiobook and completely zone out, following a pattern or just going on with a repetitive stitch. I hope the people who have received the items I have made like them. I hope that the orders continue and that I stay busy.

Oh and have updated with my nickname.

Harri here!

xx

2 comments on “Crocheting and Mental Health

  • Let me know what you think.

        Chelle's Crafty Crochet

    Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

    Capital Nerd

    Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

    Sloth Speed Recovery

    A Mental Health Recovery Site

    British Army Blog

    Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

    chronicleofellen

    life, the universe and crafty goodness

    createdbymeggan

    Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

    RestinBitchFace

    Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

    The Craft Cwtch

    Quality yarn from around the world

    Sophie Eliza

    lets talk

    Rainbow Junkie

    My crafty creations corner

    Betty's Banter

    Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

    Pride's Purge

    an irreverent look at UK politics

    One Page At A Time

    There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

    It's all in a Nutshell

    A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

    Anonymously Autistic

    #ActuallyAutistic - An Aspie obsessed with writing. This site is intend to inspire through sharing stories & experiences. The opinions of the writers are their own. I am just an Autistic woman - NOT a medical professional.

