Holidays and Barry the Bergen

Published April 22, 2017 by Harri

For our daughter’s 11th birthday, we booked a holiday to Tenby. Stayed in a caravan. Enjoyed some peace and time away. I did a lot of walking there, despite being rough as hell with germs. We walked from the caravan site to the beach and into Tenby and back. It was lush. Beautiful sunsets and lovely family quality time.

Whilst away, I spoke to a Captain in the 3rd Royal Welsh. He told me that they would be able to help with out with a Bergen. I had to call back after the Easter bank holiday to arrange a time to get fitted and take home a bergen.

Thursday of this week, my parents, daughter and I, went to Cardiff to meet the Captain and Colonel in the Officer’s Mess. We talked about my Father’s career in the Army, why I was doing the walking and the use of the kit and how long I would be needing it for.

The Captain then took me down to the Stores where I met the Colour Sergeant in charge. We talked about the bergen, how to pack it with the weight (bottles of water, packed against the back support and held in place with towels or blankets. Bottles of water as if I need to lessen the weight, I can just dump the water and not have to worry about leaving kit), how to wear it and the fact that I NEED to get used to the bergen (which weighs 4kg [about 8/9lbs] without any added weight or kit) before I start adding weight. I was advised by the professionals to walk my first 5km without any weight and add it in small increments. Which is what I will be doing. I do not want to injure myself on my quest to raise money for Pancreatic Cancer UK.

Today, I walked 4.29 miles in 1hr 30mins. Up hill, downhill and with Barry the Bergen! (I named the Bergen). It was nice, the sun was out for a change and it was a beautiful walk!

Barry the Bergen and I at the top!

My first 5km walk is on Saturday the 29th of April. I am really looking forward to it.

Let me know what you think.

A Positive Death UK

Death Pos Community in the UK

Chelle's Crafty Crochet

Crochet isn't an oldies thing! It's an any age thing!

Capital Nerd

Connecting ideas and people – How books can change our lives

Sloth Speed Recovery

A Mental Health Recovery Site

British Army Blog

Soldiers and Officers of the British Army in their own words

chronicleofellen

life, the universe and crafty goodness

createdbymeggan

Writings - Crafts -Photography - Family Tree and more...

RestinBitchFace

Spoons, Crocheting, Books, Life and Weirdness

The Craft Cwtch

Quality yarn from around the world

Sophie Eliza

lets talk

Rainbow Junkie

My crafty creations corner

Betty's Banter

Crochet, Chemistry and the little people in my life

Pride's Purge

an irreverent look at UK politics

One Page At A Time

There's no use in over thinking or trying to read ahead so I'm attempting to take things one page at a time. Looking at things through a body positive, crafty, cake-eating, feminist lens.

It's all in a Nutshell

A nutty crochet blog for nutty people

